This is One Nerdy Boy I Was Happy to Meet! Breaking the Ice Review

B76C136D-E74F-446A-996D-FA2B4AAA6EAA

Title: Breaking the Ice
Author: Julie Cross
Genre: YA Contemporary
Series: Juniper Falls #2
Release Date: December 26, 2017

Synopsis

The second book in the Juniper Falls series from NY Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Julie Cross, perfect for fans of Miranda Kenneally and Abbi Glines.

Haley Stevenson seems like she’s got it all together: cheer captain, “Princess” of Juniper Falls, and voted Most Likely to Get Things Done. But below the surface, she’s struggling with a less-than-stellar GPA and still reeling from the loss of her first love. Repeating her Civics class during summer school is her chance to Get Things Done, not angst over boys. In fact, she’s sworn them off completely until college.

Fletcher Scott is happy to keep a low profile around Juniper Falls. He’s always been the invisible guy, warming the bench on the hockey team and moonlighting at a job that would make his grandma blush. Suddenly, though, he’s finding he wants more: more time on the ice, and more time with his infuriatingly perfect summer-school study partner.

But leave it to a girl who requires perfection to shake up a boy who’s ready to break all the rules.

Review

When I first read the synopsis for Breaking the Ice, I thought I had it all figured out.  Popular girl falls for the nerdy kid and realizes he’s not so nerdy after all.  But this book is so much more than that!

Haley Stevenson is the head cheerleader, Princess of Juniper Falls, and all around popular girl.  But try as she might, she can’t seem to conquer her Civics class so she finds herself repeating it again in summer school.  What she doesn’t expect to find there is Fletcher Scott, who is truly an enigma, and frankly, kind of a jerk.  I loved the relationship between this two characters!  It was intense, but sweet and was a perfect addition to this series.

Haley was first introduced in Off the Ice, and we see a side of her that probably isn’t her at her best.  She comes into Breaking the Ice having learned a lot about herself, but she’s still doubtful that she’s a good person.  Her relationship with Fletcher not only helps her to see who she truly is, but it also lets her see what love is really like.  By the end of the book, I really connected with Haley and was so glad to see her get her happy ever after.

And then there’s Fletcher Scott.  Fletcher is quiet, smart, and tries his hardest to blend into the background.  His family has been plagued by rumors for years, and now that things have calmed down, he doesn’t want to draw them back into the spotlight.  Plus Fletcher has secrets of his own. Secrets that could kill him and he should really share them with others.  But fear and anger hold him back.  It isn’t until he starts spending more time with Haley that he too, starts to find himself.

i just cannot stress enough how much I loved this book!  This series is one that is sticking on my radar and I really hope that Julie Cross continues with this series and we see more of Juniper Falls.  There’s a few other characters that I would love to hear their stories.  If you love ya contemps, and you love sweet sports romances, then you need to pick up this book.  I promise you will not be disappointed!

***Breaking the Ice releases December 26, 2017.  Thank you to Entangled Teen for generously providing me an ARC for review***

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ stars!

One thought

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s