An Original, New Paranormal Fantasy for Fans of Supernatural and Lost Girl: Heir of Ashes Review

546A9842-CF9C-4494-B68C-3BBABDFFE6BC

Title:  Heir of Ashes
Author:  Jina S. Bazzar
Genre:  YA Paranormal Fantasy
Publication Date:  April 15, 2018

Synopsis

Roxanne Fosch had a perfectly normal life at the age of twelve. Cool, popular, pretty, smart. Her dreams of a perfect, successful and prosperous future seemed well within her grasp.


By the time she was twenty-two she had become a commodity. A fugitive. She was being hunted.


As Roxanne embarks on the dangerous quest to search for half-truths about her past, she discovers she’s not just an abnormal human, but a rarity even among her Fee peers.


She is hunted by scientists, keen to exploit her extraordinary abilities, as well as other beings far more dangerous whose plans for her she cannot fathom.

Review

Every once in a while, a copy of a book will come across my desk that I’ve heard nothing about, but looks so intriguing, I can’t help but take a peek.  Heir of Ashes was one of those books and I am absolutely thrilled to have been given a chance to read it.

Heir of Ashes is a YA paranormal fantasy that is is original, intriguing, and like nothing I’ve ever read before.  I was completely impressed with the story that Jina wove throughout these pages, and she kept me on my toes and reading late into the night.

This is the story of Roxanne Fosch, a preternatural that was ripped from her family at a young age by the PSS (Paranormal Scientists Society) where she was kept caged and experimented on.  Roxanne manages to escape and re-enters society as Eliza Daniels.  Moving from town to town, she is continually hunted by paranormal bounty hunters determined to take her back to the PSS.  As time progresses it becomes clear that it’s not just the PSS hunting her down and Roxanne can trust no one.  Plus there is the mysterious Logan, a born vampire/werewolf that continues to pop up wherever she is.

Roxanne was a kick ass heroine that didn’t take crap from anybody.  She’s got a strong survival instinct, and untapped power that everyone wants.  Roxanne is probably one of the strongest female characters I’ve read in a long time, and she reminds me of Katy from the Lux series which is my all time favorite.  Her power is remarkable, and I can’t wait to see how Roxanne progresses in the next book.

Jina also really excelled at world building, and created an environment that was believable and creepy.  I loved the introduction of different types of preternatural creatures and how Roxanne could determine their type through their auras.  It was a nice, fun detail that really helped bring a bit more to the story.

Heir of Ashes is like reading a TV fantasy show.  Think Supernatural, or Lost Girl.  If these type of shows are something you love, than definitely check out this new release!

4/5 Stars!

2 thoughts

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s